NASCAR Championship Race in Miami: Television Schedule, Drivers

It all depends.

Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick and Martin Truex Jr. will battle it out for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship on Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

The rules are simple: the driver with the highest goal wins. There will be three more racing phases, but in-race points will not be awarded. For the remaining four drivers, the points and playoff points for the last race will be reset to 5,000. The same applies to the Xfinity and Camping World Truck Series, which will also determine their 2017 champions this weekend on the track in South Florida.

On the Cup side, Truex is the only rider who hasn’t won a previous title, but he’s the favorite to join the others on Sunday as six of his seven wins this year on 1.5-mile tracks are similar to that Homestead-Miami Speedway achieved an incredible 2.7 average finish and 4.7 average running position this season.

But it was Harvick who took the final 1.5-mile win in Texas to secure a spot in the title race. Harvick also has the best average result (6.9) on the Homestead-Miami Speedway of any active driver.

This is Busch’s third trip in a row to the Championship 4 race. In 2015 he won the Ford EcoBoost 400 to seal his first championship in the Cup series.

Keselowski may be the last of the Championship 4 drivers, but he won on a similar track in Atlanta earlier this season and has 15 top 5 finishes this year.

The Cup Series race is also the final race for two future Hall of Famers in Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Matt Kenseth.

NASCAR at Homestead-Miami Schedule, TV Channels

(All times ET)

Friday 17th November
8: 30-9: 25 a.m .: Training of the Camping World Truck Series, FS1
10-10: 55 am: Final training of the Camping World Truck Series, FS1
12: 30-13: 55 p.m .: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series training, NBCSN
2: 30-3: 25 p.m .: Exercise in the XFINITY series, NBCSN
3:30 p.m .: Qualification for the Keystone Light Pole of the Camping World Truck Series, FS1
5-5: 55 p.m .: Closing exercise of the XFINITY series, NBCSN
6:15 p.m .: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Coors Light Pole Qualifying, NBCSN
8 p.m .: Camping World Truck Series Ford EcoBoost 200 (134 laps, 201 miles), FS1

Saturday 18th November
10-10: 55 a.m .: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Training, CNBC
11:15 a.m .: XFINITY Series Coors Light Pole Qualifying, CNBC
1 p.m. – 1.50 p.m .: Closing practice of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, NBCSN
3:30 p.m .: XFINITY Series Ford EcoBoost 300 (200 laps, 300 miles), NBCSN

Homestead, Florida weather forecast for this weekend

There’s no rain in the forecast on the 1.5-mile stretch in Homestead south of Miami. The high temperatures are between 80 and 85 Friday to Sunday with partly cloudy skies.

When does the NASCAR championship race start?

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 begins Sunday, November 19 at 3 p.m. ET and can be seen on NBC and the NBC Sports app.

Which drivers are fighting for the title of the Xfinity and Truck series?

Here are the drivers racing for the title in their respective series:

Xfinity: William Byron, Justin Allgaier, Elliott Sadler and Daniel Hemric.

Truck: Johnny Sauter, Christopher Bell, Matt Crafton, and Austin Cindric.

Which NASCAR drivers are driving the title race at Homestead?

39 Cup drivers are registered on Sunday, which means that all drivers will complete the race with qualifying on Friday as the starting position. Here is the list of the participating cup drivers in alphabetical order by first name:

AJ Allmendinger

Aric Almirola

Austin Dillon

Brad Keselowski

Chase Elliott

Chris Buescher

Clint Bowyer

Cole Whitt

Corey LaJoie

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Danica Patrick

Daniel Suarez

David Ragan

David Starr

Denny Hamlin

Erik Jones

Jamie McMurray

Jeffrey Earnhardt

Jimmie Johnson

Joey Logano

Kasey Kahne

Kevin Harvick

Kurt Busch

Kyle Busch

Kyle Larson

Landon Cassill

Martin Truex Jr.

Matt DiBenedetto

Matt Kenseth

Michael McDowell

Paul Menard

Ray Black Jr.

Reed Sorenson

Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Ross Chastain

Ryan Blaney

Ryan Newman

Trevor Bayne

Ty Dillon

Comments are closed.